Spring folio to celebrate life

I love all seasons, I always did…but nowadays I prefer spring and autumn. I think they are the most spectacular seasons of the year. Since I was about 13 yo, my favourite months have been May and September. In Sweden I learned to love Octobers too. Almost more than Septembers. Septembers always felt rather melancholic to me, while Octobers feel rather fresh and crispy and they have something exciting and mysterious about them. Something I want to catch and I feel that I can only catch that by getting out in the nature.

Both spring and autumn feel like a celebration to me: in spring nature comes back to life and we celebrate that, and in autumn it comes to fruition somehow, and we can only celebrate that too, right :)? The richness and intensity of colours act as a balm for my eyes and soul. The spring’s lush greens simply fill me with energy. And I love the autumn-y smell of dying leaves floating in water puddles. These are only scratching the surface of what I love about these seasons :).

So, realising that we have an album for autumn and one for all the 4 seasons, I was wondering “How can we not have an album for spring yet??!!”.

The front cover

And so I started working on one, especially since I still had some papers in my stash. I made it into a folio – which seem to be a theme with me this year, I don’t know why. A big one, but also a simple one. As I really wanted to show the beauty of the season and of the papers.

Every time I buy a new collection, I take my time with it and I always I let myself transported into that specific “universe”: either in time or in space, or maybe both? Mostly in space though. It’s a great feeling and it usually acts as a muse or at least as a motivator to start creating right then and there. Im grateful to the fantastic artists who come up with such lovely ideas and gorgeous designs.

I was saying that I made it into a big folio, a quad folio, and in the 1st pic above you can see it open once, while in the 2nd pic twice. It measures 8-1/4″ in width and 10-1/4″ in height, with a spine of 2″.

I have used 2 collections for this album, both launched 3 years ago, exactly as the pandemic started. I remember I was very excited to get my hands on them and I was not disappointed when that happened.

I used kraft cardstock as a base this time and I think it turned out just fine the combo between the 2 collections and kraft paper.

The video below is a showcase of the folio, just for you to see the details and the structures and so on. I hope you will enjoy and Subscribe to my YT channel should you like what you see:

Until next time, stay cool and creative, lovely people ;)!

Leave a comment